Mose Allison – Takes To The Hills

The incomparable and profoundly influential pianist/singer-songwriter Mose Allison – who’s inspired everyone from Georgie Fame, The Who and The Clash to Van Morrison and Pixies – developed his own unique, idiosyncratic style that melded an ironic sense of wit and humour with country-blues inflections and a bebop-esque vocabulary.

Besides cool playing and his uniquely smoky singing, Mose has great taste in material. ”Hey Good Lookin'” fits right in with revisited versions of ”I Love the Life I Live,” ”I Ain’t Got Nobody” and ”Baby Please Don’t Go,” complete with what the singer himself calls his distinctive ”involuntary groan” during the piano solo. Teo Macero’s intimate production makes it feel like you’re right there in the studio.
Mark Allan/AMG


Side 1:
1. V-8 Ford Blues
2. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone
3. Baby, Please Don’t Go
4.  Hey, Good Lookin’
5. I Love The Life I Live
6.  I Ain’t Got Nobody (And Nobody Cares For Me)

Side 2:
1. Back On The Corner
2. Life Is Suicide
3. ’Deed I Do
4. Ask Me Nice
5. You’re A Sweetheart
6. Mad With You

Produced by Teo Macero
Re-mastering by: Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London

Dokument: En återutgivning av jazzpianisten och sångaren Mose Allison lovprisas i denna kortrecension.

Tillverkare/märke: Pure Pleasure (EU)